AgentsVersus

The best AI personal assistants in 2026

Meta Muse is the best free AI personal assistant, Gemini Spark the best for Google users ($19.99/mo), ChatGPT Dots the best for work in ChatGPT ($100+/mo), and OpenClaw the best open-source one. These are always-on personal agents, not chatbots: a chatbot answers when you ask, while an agent like Muse, Dots, Spark or Grok Bot keeps working in the cloud, sending the email, booking the trip or working through your inbox. We compared eight on price, where you use them and how they run, using only their makers' own pages.

Checked 2026-09-30
8 picks · 20 official sources
Quick picks

At a glance

AgentMakerTypeFree tierCheapest paid plan
Meta MuseMetaPersonal agentYes — free with a usage limit (limit not stated officially)Power: $20/mo
ChatGPT DotsOpenAIPersonal agent (inside ChatGPT)NoPro 100: $100/mo
Gemini Spark ↗GooglePersonal agentNoGoogle AI Pro: $19.99/mo
Grok Bot ↗SpaceXAIWork agentNoCursor Pro: $20/mo
OpenClaw ↗OpenClaw FoundationOpen-source self-hosted personal agentSoftware free; you pay hosting + model API—
Hermes Agent ↗Nous ResearchOpen-source self-hosted agentSoftware free; model/hosting costs vary—
Poke ↗The Interaction CompanyPersonal agent (texting)Yes — most features includedPro: $19/mo
Lindy ↗LindyWork agent (email/inbox assistant)7-day free trialPlus: $29.99/mo / user

The picks

1.Meta Muse

Meta · Personal agent

Meta's personal agent browses the web, fills in forms, sends email, books travel and makes purchases, checking with you before sensitive actions. It works inside a dedicated cloud machine, and a separate agent must approve anything that reaches the internet.

Pick it if: you're in the US and want to try an agent without paying.

Free tier
Yes — free with a usage limit (limit not stated officially)
Cheapest paid plan
Power: $20/mo
Where you use it
iOS, Android, Web, Glasses (coming soon)
How it runs
Muse Secure VM — dedicated cloud VM holding agent + user data; Sentinel agent must approve anything that reaches the internet
Availability
US (rolling out)

2.ChatGPT Dots

OpenAI · Personal agent (inside ChatGPT)

OpenAI's agent lives inside ChatGPT. Each dot has its own cloud computer and browser, works through connected apps, runs scheduled tasks and does background research. You set Custom Rules for what it may do without asking.

Pick it if: you already pay for ChatGPT Pro or want an agent you can message from Slack or Teams.

Free tier
No
Cheapest paid plan
Pro 100: $100/mo
Where you use it
Web (desktop), Desktop app, Mobile app (chat after setup; cannot create a dot on mobile), Slack, Microsoft Teams, SMS (limited beta, US Pro only)
How it runs
Own cloud computer; user can open it to inspect work
Availability
'eligible markets' (list linked, not yet captured)

3.Gemini Spark

Google · Personal agent

Google's agent runs multi-step tasks across Gmail, Calendar, Drive, Docs and Sheets, plus outside apps like Canva, Dropbox, Instacart and OpenTable. It keeps working in Google's cloud when your laptop is closed.

Pick it if: your email, calendar and files are already in Google.

Free tier
No
Cheapest paid plan
Google AI Pro: $19.99/mo
Where you use it
Web, Mobile app, macOS (beta, Google AI Ultra)
How it runs
Google's cloud; keeps working when your laptop is closed or your phone is locked
Availability
Select countries (launched in the US, then India, Australia and Canada, among others)

4.Grok Bot

SpaceXAI · Work agent

SpaceXAI's agent gets a persistent cloud computer with a browser, filesystem and terminal, and can learn workflows from a demonstration. It asks before purchases, deleting data, publishing and accepting legal terms.

Pick it if: you want desktop apps or already pay for SuperGrok or Cursor.

Free tier
No
Cheapest paid plan
Cursor Pro: $20/mo
Where you use it
macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, iPad, Android
How it runs
Persistent cloud computer per bot (browser, filesystem, terminal) on Cursor's cloud; optional execution on your own computer (ask each time / always / never)
Availability
Not stated

5.OpenClaw

OpenClaw Foundation · Open-source self-hosted personal agent

The open-source personal agent you install on your own computer or server and message from WhatsApp, Telegram, iMessage, Slack and more. You choose the model: Claude, Codex or a local one.

Pick it if: you're comfortable running your own software and want full control over the model and your data.

Free tier
Software free; you pay hosting + model API
Cheapest paid plan
Not stated
Where you use it
macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, Discord, iMessage, Slack, Teams, Telegram, WhatsApp, Google Chat, Signal, 20+ more
How it runs
Runs on your own computer or server (Node.js 24.16+ or 26.1+, Docker or Nix); tools execute on the host by default
Availability
Not stated

6.Hermes Agent

Nous Research · Open-source self-hosted agent

Nous Research's open-source agent builds reusable skills from experience and keeps its own memory. It works with any model and runs commands in local, Docker, SSH or cloud sandboxes.

Pick it if: you want a self-hosted agent and like OpenClaw's approach but want a different project.

Free tier
Software free; model/hosting costs vary
Cheapest paid plan
Not stated
Where you use it
Linux, macOS, Windows, Telegram, Discord, Slack, WhatsApp, Signal, CLI
How it runs
Self-hosted: your computer, a VPS, a GPU cluster or serverless
Availability
Not stated

7.Poke

The Interaction Company · Personal agent (texting)

An assistant you text. Poke handles email (Gmail, Outlook), calendars and contacts, plus Notion, GitHub and Linear, and can build simple websites. The Ultra plan can send real-world tasks to a person.

Pick it if: you want an assistant in your messages with nothing to set up.

Free tier
Yes — most features included
Cheapest paid plan
Pro: $19/mo
Where you use it
Not stated
How it runs
Hosted service; you text it
Availability
Not stated

8.Lindy

Lindy · Work agent (email/inbox assistant)

Lindy is an inbox and work assistant with per-user plans that include monthly credits. It has a 7-day free trial rather than a free tier.

Pick it if: you're buying for a team and want per-seat pricing.

Free tier
7-day free trial
Cheapest paid plan
Plus: $29.99/mo / user
Where you use it
Not stated
How it runs
Not stated
Availability
Not stated

How we chose

We included agents that take actions for a person, not just answer questions, and that we could check against their makers' own pages. We left out agents without enough official information yet; Instinct, for example, is invite-only and has published no pricing. The order reflects how widely available each one is and how complete its public information is, not paid placement.

Facts come from official pricing, help and announcement pages, listed under Sources. Where a maker hasn't published something, the tables say "Not stated."

How we pick and check: methodology. Nobody paid to be on this list.

FAQ

What is the best free AI personal assistant?

Meta Muse has a free tier with a usage limit Meta hasn't published, and it's rolling out in the US. Poke also has a free tier that includes most features. OpenClaw and Hermes Agent are free software, but you pay for hosting and the model.

What's the difference between an AI assistant and an AI agent?

A chatbot answers you. An agent takes actions for you, such as sending the email, filling in the form or running the task on a schedule, usually on a computer of its own. Every pick on this list is an agent in that sense.

Which AI personal assistant is safest?

It depends on which risk you care about. Hosted agents like Muse, Dots, Gemini Spark and Grok Bot each say they ask before sensitive actions like purchases or sending email. Self-hosted agents like OpenClaw keep your data on your machine, but their tools run there too, so their docs recommend reading the security guide first.

Which AI personal assistants work outside the US?

Gemini Spark has launched in several countries, including India, Australia and Canada. ChatGPT Dots is in OpenAI's eligible markets. Meta Muse is US only for now. Self-hosted agents like OpenClaw and Hermes Agent run anywhere you can host them.

How much does an AI personal assistant cost?

From free (Muse, Poke) to about $20 to $30 a month (Gemini Spark with Google AI Pro, Grok Bot with Cursor Pro or SuperGrok, Muse Power) and $100 a month and up (ChatGPT Dots with Pro).

Sources

  1. about.fb.comabout.fb.com/news/2026/09/introducing-muse-personal-ai-agent/ ↗
  2. meta.comwww.meta.com/help/subscriptions/1021145227643680/ ↗
  3. openai.comopenai.com/index/introducing-dots/ ↗
  4. help.openai.comhelp.openai.com/en/articles/20001530-getting-started-with-your-dot ↗
  5. help.openai.comhelp.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-about-chatgpt-pro-tiers ↗
  6. help.openai.comhelp.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-chatgpt-plus ↗
  7. gemini.googlegemini.google/overview/agent/spark/ ↗
  8. blog.googleblog.google/innovation-and-ai/products/gemini-app/next-evolution-gemini-app/ ↗
  9. blog.googleblog.google/innovation-and-ai/products/gemini-app/gemini-spark-updates-june-2026/ ↗
  10. gemini.googlegemini.google/us/subscriptions/?hl=en ↗
  11. x.aix.ai/news/introducing-grok-bot ↗
  12. docs.x.aidocs.x.ai/grok-bot/overview ↗
  13. docs.x.aidocs.x.ai/grok-bot/approvals-security-and-privacy ↗
  14. cursor.comcursor.com/help/grok-bot/plans ↗
  15. x.aix.ai/pricing ↗
  16. cursor.comcursor.com/pricing ↗
  17. github.comgithub.com/openclaw/openclaw ↗
  18. github.comgithub.com/nousresearch/hermes-agent ↗
  19. poke.compoke.com/faq ↗
  20. lindy.aiwww.lindy.ai/pricing ↗