AgentsVersus

Meta Muse vs ChatGPT Dots

Muse is the cheaper, phone-first agent with a free tier; Dots costs $100+ a month and is built for work in ChatGPT, Slack and Teams. Facts from Meta's and OpenAI's own pages, checked and dated.

Checked 2026-09-30
6 official sources
Quick verdict

Muse is the cheaper way in: it has a free tier and paid plans at $20 and $100 a month, but it is rolling out in the US first. Dots has no free tier and needs ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium, and it is built around work: Slack, Teams, scheduled tasks and 4,000+ connected apps.

Pick Meta Muse if
  • You want to try a personal agent without paying. Muse has a free tier (Meta hasn't published its limit).
  • You're in the US and want it on your phone: iOS, Android and web.
  • You want it to shop, book travel and fill in forms, and to check with you before it sends an email or buys something.
Pick ChatGPT Dots if
  • You already pay for ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium. Your first dot is included.
  • Your work happens in Slack or Microsoft Teams, or in apps ChatGPT already connects to.
  • You want recurring, scheduled tasks and your own rules for what it may do alone and what it must ask about.

Specs side by side

Official sources only
MMeta Muse
DChatGPT Dots
Maker
Meta
OpenAI
Launched
2026-09-08
2026-09-29
Free tier
Yes — free with a usage limit (limit not stated officially)
No
Paid plans
  • Power: $20/mo
  • Max: $100/mo
  • Pro 100: $100/mo
  • Pro 200: $200/mo (open to new sign-ups again; new subscriptions get a lower usage allowance)
  • Pro 500: $500/mo (includes Astra Ultrafast)
Plan needed
Free tier
ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium (Enterprise/Edu/Healthcare: beta, admin-enabled)
Where you use it
iOS, Android, Web, Glasses (coming soon)
Web (desktop), Desktop app, Mobile app (chat after setup; cannot create a dot on mobile), Slack, Microsoft Teams, SMS (limited beta, US Pro only)
Availability
US (rolling out)
'eligible markets' (list linked, not yet captured)
How it runs
Muse Secure VM — dedicated cloud VM holding agent + user data; Sentinel agent must approve anything that reaches the internet
Own cloud computer; user can open it to inspect work
What it can do
browse web, fill forms, send email, book travel, purchases, negotiate on user's behalf
own cloud computer + browser; connected apps; scheduled/recurring tasks; proactive background research (read-only tools); optional access to user's laptop
Asks before acting
Checks with the person before sensitive actions like sending an email or making a purchase
Auto-review of account-affecting actions; Custom Rules (act / act if pre-approved / ask / hand off); sensitive tasks like password change always stay with user; monitoring can pause the dot
Training on your data
Users can opt out of interactions being used to train Meta's models
Personal plans: user controls whether dot conversations/work improve models. Business/Enterprise/Edu not used by default. No direct training on proactive research or dot's notes
Model
Muse Spark
GPT-6 Astra

“Not stated” means the maker’s pages don’t say — not that the feature is missing.

Price

Muse starts at $0. The free tier has a usage limit Meta hasn't published. Two paid plans raise the weekly allowance: Power ($20/mo, 500M Muse tokens a week) and Max ($100/mo, 3B Muse tokens a week). Meta says subscriptions are still in limited testing.

Dots has no free tier. It comes with ChatGPT Pro ($100, $200 or $500 a month, monthly billing only) or Business Premium. Your first dot is included at no extra cost, and the plan includes an allowance for deeper work, with extended limits in the first month. OpenAI says extra dots are coming "in the future" and hasn't announced a price. Pro $200 is open to new subscribers again; new subscriptions get a lower usage allowance than before.

Bottom line: if price decides it, Muse wins by at least $80 a month.

What each can do

Meta describes Muse browsing the web, filling in forms, sending email, booking travel, making purchases and negotiating on your behalf. Its named payment and password partners are Link (by Stripe), Shop Pay and 1Password.

A dot has its own cloud computer and browser, works through connected apps (OpenAI says 4,000+ through plugins), runs scheduled and recurring tasks, and does proactive background research with read-only tools. You can also give it optional access to your laptop.

Bottom line: Muse is pitched at errands and purchases; Dots at ongoing work across the apps you already use.

Where you use it

Muse runs on iOS, Android and the web, with glasses support "coming soon."

Dots lives inside ChatGPT: the web and desktop apps are where you set it up. The mobile app lets you chat with a dot after setup, but mobile web isn't supported. You can also message a dot from Slack and Microsoft Teams, and SMS is in a limited beta for US Pro users.

Safety and privacy

Both do their work on a cloud machine rather than your phone. Muse works inside a Muse Secure VM, a dedicated cloud machine that holds the agent and your data, and a separate "Sentinel" agent must approve anything that reaches the internet. Meta has announced a Confidential VM with a key you hold, for later in 2026. It isn't live yet.

OpenAI automatically reviews actions that affect your accounts. You set Custom Rules for what a dot may do alone, and sensitive tasks like changing a password always stay with you. Resetting a dot deletes it along with its conversations, memories and scheduled tasks. Disconnecting an app doesn't delete data the dot already pulled from it.

Bottom line: Dots gives you more written-down controls today. Muse's strongest privacy feature, the Confidential VM, is announced but not shipped.

Availability

Muse: US, rolling out. Dots: OpenAI's "eligible markets." We haven't recorded the country list yet. We'll add it once we've checked it against OpenAI's page.

Keep comparing

FAQ

Is Meta Muse free?

Yes. Muse has a free tier with a usage limit that Meta hasn't published. Paid plans are Power at $20 a month and Max at $100 a month. Meta says subscriptions are in limited testing, not available in every location, and 18+.

Do I need ChatGPT Pro to use Dots?

Yes, or ChatGPT Business Premium. OpenAI says Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare workspaces get Dots in beta once an admin turns it on. ChatGPT Pro comes in $100, $200 and $500 monthly tiers, with no annual billing. The $200 tier is open to new subscribers again, with a lower usage allowance than before.

Which is cheaper, Muse or Dots?

Muse. You can start on Muse for $0, and its cheapest paid plan is $20 a month. The cheapest way to get Dots is ChatGPT Pro at $100 a month. Business Premium pricing wasn't on the OpenAI pages we checked.

Can Muse or Dots buy things for me?

Meta lists purchases among Muse's actions and says Muse checks with you before sensitive actions like sending an email or making a purchase. OpenAI's Dots pages don't list purchases specifically; they describe automatic review of actions that affect your accounts and Custom Rules that set whether a dot acts, acts only if pre-approved, asks, or hands off to you.

Do Muse and Dots use my data to train AI models?

Muse: Meta says you can opt out of your interactions being used to train its models. Dots: on personal plans you control whether dot conversations and work improve OpenAI's models; Business, Enterprise and Edu data isn't used by default, and OpenAI says it doesn't train directly on a dot's proactive research or notes.

Where are Muse and Dots available?

Meta says Muse is rolling out in the US. OpenAI says Dots is available in eligible markets and links a country list; we haven't recorded that list yet, so check OpenAI's page if you're outside the US.

Can I use Dots on my phone?

Partly. After you set up a dot on the web or desktop app, you can chat with it in the ChatGPT mobile app, but you can't create a dot on mobile, and mobile web isn't supported. Muse runs on iOS, Android and the web.

Sources

  1. about.fb.comabout.fb.com/news/2026/09/introducing-muse-personal-ai-agent/ ↗
  2. meta.comwww.meta.com/help/subscriptions/1021145227643680/ ↗
  3. openai.comopenai.com/index/introducing-dots/ ↗
  4. help.openai.comhelp.openai.com/en/articles/20001530-getting-started-with-your-dot ↗
  5. help.openai.comhelp.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-about-chatgpt-pro-tiers ↗
  6. help.openai.comhelp.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-chatgpt-plus ↗