AgentsVersus

Personal AI agents

A personal AI agent does tasks for you instead of only answering questions: it browses, fills in forms, sends messages and books things, usually on a computer of its own in the cloud. Here is every one we track, with prices from each maker's pricing page.

Checked 2026-09-30
AgentMakerTypeFree tierCheapest paid plan
Meta MuseMetaPersonal agentYes — free with a usage limit (limit not stated officially)Power: $20/mo
ChatGPT DotsOpenAIPersonal agent (inside ChatGPT)NoPro 100: $100/mo
Grok Bot ↗SpaceXAIWork agentNoCursor Pro: $20/mo
OpenClaw ↗OpenClaw FoundationOpen-source self-hosted personal agentSoftware free; you pay hosting + model API—
Lindy ↗LindyWork agent (email/inbox assistant)7-day free trialPlus: $29.99/mo / user
Gemini Spark ↗GooglePersonal agentNoGoogle AI Pro: $19.99/mo
Instinct ↗InstinctPersonal agent (SMS-first, no app)Not stated—
Poke ↗The Interaction CompanyPersonal agent (texting)Yes — most features includedPro: $19/mo
Hermes Agent ↗Nous ResearchOpen-source self-hosted agentSoftware free; model/hosting costs vary—

Personal AI agent vs chatbot

ChatbotPersonal agent
What you doAsk a question, get an answerHand over a task, check back later
What it doesWrites, explains, searchesBrowses, fills in forms, sends messages, books things
Where it worksInside the chat windowOn a computer of its own, usually in the cloud, or one you host
When it worksOnly while you're chattingIn the background and on a schedule
Before risky stepsNothing to approveAsks you first, for example before a purchase or sending an email
ExamplesChatGPT, Grok, GeminiMeta Muse, ChatGPT Dots, Gemini Spark, Grok Bot, OpenClaw

Comparisons

Meta Muse vs ChatGPT Dots →Meta Muse vs ChatGPT Dots vs Grok Bot →Meta Muse vs ChatGPT Dots vs Gemini Spark →ChatGPT Dots pricing →OpenClaw alternatives →Best AI personal assistants →

FAQ

What is a personal AI agent?

An AI that does tasks for you rather than only answering questions. It browses the web, fills in forms, sends messages and books things, usually on a computer of its own in the cloud, and asks you before sensitive steps. Examples are Meta Muse, ChatGPT Dots, Gemini Spark, Grok Bot and the open-source OpenClaw.

How is a personal AI agent different from a chatbot?

A chatbot answers while you're chatting with it. An agent takes a task and carries it out, often in the background or on a schedule, using its own browser and your connected apps. Many makers now sell both: ChatGPT and Dots, Grok and Grok Bot, Gemini and Gemini Spark.

Which personal AI agents are free?

Meta Muse and Poke have free tiers; Meta hasn't published Muse's free limit. OpenClaw and Hermes Agent are free open-source software, but you pay for hosting and the model API. ChatGPT Dots, Gemini Spark and Grok Bot need a paid plan, and Lindy offers a 7-day free trial.

What is the cheapest paid personal AI agent?

Among the big AI labs' agents, Gemini Spark comes with Google AI Pro at $19.99 a month, and Grok Bot with Cursor Pro at $20 or SuperGrok at $30. ChatGPT Dots needs ChatGPT Pro at $100 a month or more.

Which personal AI agents work outside the US?

Meta Muse is rolling out in the US first. Gemini Spark is in select countries, including the US, India, Australia and Canada. ChatGPT Dots is in OpenAI's eligible markets. Self-hosted agents such as OpenClaw run wherever you install them.