AgentsVersus

Grok vs ChatGPT

ChatGPT is the cheaper upgrade with more plan steps and desktop apps; Grok packs X search, video generation and an agent into its $30 plan. Official facts only, checked and dated.

Checked 2026-09-30
9 official sources
Quick verdict

Both have free plans. ChatGPT is cheaper to upgrade, with Go at $8 and Plus at $20 a month, and has more steps between free and $500. Grok's first paid plan, SuperGrok, costs $30 but already includes image and video generation and the Grok Bot agent; ChatGPT's agent, dots, needs Pro at $100 or more.

Pick Grok if
  • You want real-time search across the web and X.
  • You want an agent without paying $100: SuperGrok ($30) includes Grok Bot.
  • You want video generation, up to 1080p on SuperGrok Plus.
Pick ChatGPT if
  • You want the cheapest paid plan: Go at $8, or Plus at $20.
  • You want native apps for Mac and Windows as well as iPhone and Android.
  • You want Codex, OpenAI's coding agent, included with Plus.

Specs side by side

Official sources only
GGrok
CChatGPT
Maker
SpaceXAI (formerly xAI)
OpenAI
Free tier
Yes — within limits
Yes
Paid plans
  • SuperGrok Lite: Price not listed
  • SuperGrok: $30/mo
  • SuperGrok Plus: $100/mo
  • SuperGrok Heavy: Price not listed
  • Go: $8/mo (US price; localized elsewhere)
  • Plus: $20/mo
  • Pro 100: $100/mo
  • Pro 200: $200/mo (open to new sign-ups again; new subscriptions get a lower usage allowance)
  • Pro 500: $500/mo (includes Astra Ultrafast)
Billing
Not stated
Plus and Pro are billed monthly; no annual billing
What each plan adds
Free: real-time web and X search, voice mode, connectors. SuperGrok: Grok 4.6, higher limits, Expert, image and video generation, Grok Bot. SuperGrok Plus: 1080p video, much higher usage, priority access
Free: chat with limits. Go: 10x Free's messages, uploads and image creation. Plus: voice, image generation, file analysis, deep research, Codex. Pro: most capable Pro model, dots agent, early access to new tools
Where you use it
Web, iOS, Android, X
Web, iOS, Android, macOS (Apple silicon, macOS 14+), Windows
Ads
Not stated
Free and Go may show ads (testing began in the US); Plus, Pro, Business and Enterprise are ad-free
Training on your data
On grok.com, Settings → Data → Improve the Model lets you opt out; Private Chat is excluded from training. On X, a Privacy & Safety setting controls it
OpenAI may use conversations to improve models; you can opt out at any time in Data Controls
Model
Grok 4.6 in the Grok apps; Grok 4.7 (Sep 21, 2026) in Cursor, Grok Build and the API
GPT-5.6 Luna on Free and Go; GPT-5.6 Sol on paid plans; GPT-6 Pro (GPT-6 Astra) on Pro and Business

“Not stated” means the maker’s pages don’t say — not that the feature is missing.

Which is better, by use

Based on each company's own pricing and help pages, not a hands-on test of answer quality.

If you wantGrokChatGPTBetter fit
Everyday chat for freeFree plan, within limitsFree plan with GPT-5.6 Luna; unlimited everyday text chatsBoth
Real-time X (Twitter) searchIncluded, limited on FreeNot statedGrok
The cheapest paid planSuperGrok, $30/moGo, $8/mo in the US; Plus, $20/moChatGPT
The top model in chatGrok 4.6 on SuperGrokGPT-5.6 Sol on paid plans; GPT-6 Pro on Pro and BusinessDepends on budget
CodingGrok Build; Grok 4.7 in Cursor and the APICodex, included from Plus ($20)Both; Codex is in the $20 Plus plan
Image and video generationBoth on SuperGrok; 1080p video on SuperGrok PlusImage generation on Plus; video not statedGrok
A personal agentGrok Bot, from $30/modots, from $100/mo (Pro)Grok on price
Desktop appsWeb, iPhone and Android apps listedMac and Windows apps, plus iPhone and AndroidChatGPT
Fastest repliesPriority access at peak times on SuperGrok Plus ($100)Astra Ultrafast on Pro $500 onlyNot comparable from official data
Context windowNot statedNot statedNot stated

Price

ChatGPT has four steps above Free: Go ($8/mo in the US, localized elsewhere), Plus ($20/mo), and Pro at $100, $200 or $500 a month. Pro $200 is open to new subscribers again, with a lower usage allowance than before; only Pro $500 includes Astra Ultrafast. Plus and Pro are billed monthly; there's no annual plan.

Grok has Free, SuperGrok ($30/mo) and SuperGrok Plus ($100/mo). SpaceXAI's pricing page also lists SuperGrok Lite and SuperGrok Heavy but doesn't show their prices.

Bottom line: ChatGPT is cheaper to start paying for; Grok puts more into its first paid plan.

What each plan adds

ChatGPT: Go gives you 10x Free's messages, file uploads and image creation. Plus adds voice, image generation, file analysis, deep research and Codex. Pro adds OpenAI's most capable Pro model, the dots agent and early access to new tools.

Grok: Free already includes real-time web and X search, voice mode and connectors. SuperGrok adds Grok 4.6, higher limits, Expert, image and video generation and Grok Bot. SuperGrok Plus adds 1080p video, much higher usage and priority access at peak times.

Agents

Each company now sells a personal agent on top of its chatbot. Grok Bot comes with SuperGrok, so the cheapest way in is $30 a month. ChatGPT dots need Pro or Business Premium, so the cheapest way in is $100 a month.

Privacy

Both use your chats to improve their models unless you opt out. On ChatGPT, turn it off in Data Controls. On grok.com, go to Settings → Data → Improve the Model, or use Private Chat, which is never used for training. On X, the setting is under Privacy & Safety.

Keep comparing

FAQ

Is Grok better than ChatGPT?

It depends on the use. Grok is the better fit for real-time X search and for getting video generation and an agent on a $30 plan. ChatGPT is the better fit for a cheap upgrade ($8 or $20), coding with Codex on Plus, and Mac and Windows apps. This is based on each company's published plans, not a hands-on test.

Which models do Grok and ChatGPT use?

Grok's apps use Grok 4.6; Grok 4.7 (September 21, 2026) is in Cursor, Grok Build and the API. ChatGPT uses GPT-5.6 Luna on Free and Go, GPT-5.6 Sol on paid plans, and GPT-6 Pro on Pro and Business.

Is Grok free?

Yes. SpaceXAI's Free plan includes real-time web and X search, voice mode and connectors, within limits. SuperGrok ($30 a month) adds Grok 4.6, higher limits, image and video generation and Grok Bot.

Is ChatGPT free?

Yes. Paid plans are Go ($8 a month in the US), Plus ($20) and Pro ($100, $200 or $500). All three Pro tiers are open to new subscribers, and only Pro $500 includes Astra Ultrafast.

Which is cheaper, Grok or ChatGPT?

ChatGPT's paid plans start lower: Go is $8 and Plus is $20 a month, while SuperGrok is $30. At the $100 level, both have a plan: SuperGrok Plus and ChatGPT Pro $100.

Does ChatGPT or Grok show ads?

OpenAI started testing ads in the Free and Go plans in the US; Plus, Pro, Business and Enterprise are ad-free. SpaceXAI's pricing page doesn't mention ads.

Do Grok and ChatGPT train on my chats?

Both can, and both let you opt out. ChatGPT: OpenAI may use conversations to improve its models; you can opt out in Data Controls. Grok: on grok.com, go to Settings, Data, then Improve the Model; Private Chat conversations aren't used for training.

Which one has an AI agent?

Both. Grok Bot comes with SuperGrok and up, and runs on its own cloud computer. ChatGPT's agent, dots, comes with Pro or Business Premium. See our Muse vs Dots vs Grok Bot comparison for the agents side by side.

Sources

  1. x.aix.ai/pricing ↗
  2. x.aix.ai/legal/faq ↗
  3. help.x.comhelp.x.com/en/using-x/about-grok ↗
  4. x.aix.ai/news/grok-4-7 ↗
  5. help.openai.comhelp.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-chatgpt-plus ↗
  6. openai.comopenai.com/index/introducing-chatgpt-go/ ↗
  7. help.openai.comhelp.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-about-chatgpt-pro-tiers ↗
  8. openai.comopenai.com/chatgpt/download/ ↗
  9. help.openai.comhelp.openai.com/en/articles/20001354-gpt-56-and-gpt-6-pro-in-chatgpt ↗